December 14, 1999

TO: Diane Tone

FROM: Rick Stonebraker

SUBJECT: Case Studies

Proposed

NEW CASE STUDY #??? 99/00

An archer is preparing to shoot the third and final arrow at 30 meters. Only ten seconds left on the clock and upon drawing the arrow for the final shot, the archer claims a bug flew right into their open eye, causing them to let down immediately and did not get the shot off during the time limit.  The archer asks if there is anything that can be done.  As a judge, do you give them an allotted time to shoot an arrow, if so when and under what circumstances? Explain reasoning!

p.s. This happened at the Texas State Outdoor Championship in June of 1999. I treated it the same as you would with a contact lens. I did not rule on it right away as I had to think about it, but by the end of that distance, I allowed them to shoot the final arrow and scored it.

New Case Study #5 – 99/00

The judge can be verbal and state that he/she views it as a nine from that angle but then moves to the other side for another view. Then if he/she bumps the arrow, they can feel confident that it was a nine from their previous statement from the first angle. If the shaking did not move the arrow in question into the ten ring, then I would use my first judgement and call it a nine!  I often state my claim as to what it looks like from one position and then move to another to deny or confirm my suspicion. 

New case Study # 6 – 99/00

This happens a lot. I check the second score card to see what it says. If there is a 9 on each score card and if the second score card does not have an erasure, then I let it go but I do explain to the archers what the proper procedure is. In fact, when there are kids involved in any tournament, I always make a general announcement at the beginning of the tournament as to how to handle scoring problems. 

